Taking the best save rule question.

General discussion about Warhammer 40k
ChaosUndivided
Bandmaster
Bandmaster
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 11:24 am
Contact:

Taking the best save rule question.

Postby ChaosUndivided » Tue Mar 05, 2013 7:06 pm

I had this question come up in a recent game and couldn't find anywhere that gave us the specific answer.

On pg 19 of the small rule book under models with more than one save it states that (models) have the advantage of always using the best available save. it does not mention anything about the having to take the lowest save, for example 3+ armor vs 4+ invulnerable

On pg 17 under invulnerable saves they may be taken anytime the model takes a wound

so here's the question if you have an ability that allows you to re-roll a failed save, either armor or invulnerable of a worse statistical save for example, a space marine HQ with a 3+ armor and a 4+ invulnerable can re-roll his failed invulnerable. He take normal fire from a squad of warriors and takes two wounds. Does his invulnerable at this time become his best available save because he can re-roLL?
exlibrismortis
Warboss
Warboss
Posts: 464
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 8:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Taking the best save rule question.

Postby exlibrismortis » Tue Mar 05, 2013 8:31 pm

You can choose to use whatever save you wish, its not set in stone which one you have to use. That's really just been a general rule, not anything written down. Yet, if someone can produce an actual rule that states otherwise, or confirms my statement, I'd be ecstatic to see it.
NightLordsOldtimer
Warboss
Warboss
Posts: 431
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2011 2:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Taking the best save rule question.

Postby NightLordsOldtimer » Mon Mar 18, 2013 7:45 pm

Also, keep in mind that all Saves, and Feel No Pain, are "may/can" rules, not "must" rules. You do not have to take a save if, for whatever reason, you want the model to die...
A bad day of gaming beats a good day of work (or school) every time!
User avatar
zXzGrifterzXz
Warchief
Warchief
Posts: 61
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 12:22 pm
Location: Mesa, AZ
Contact:

Re: Taking the best save rule question.

Postby zXzGrifterzXz » Tue Mar 19, 2013 10:00 am

NightLordsOldtimer wrote: You do not have to take a save if, for whatever reason, you want the model to die...

*Cough* Lone Wolves *Cough*
"For Russ! For the Wolf Time!"
NightLordsOldtimer
Warboss
Warboss
Posts: 431
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2011 2:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Taking the best save rule question.

Postby NightLordsOldtimer » Tue Mar 19, 2013 1:05 pm

zXzGrifterzXz wrote:
NightLordsOldtimer wrote: You do not have to take a save if, for whatever reason, you want the model to die...

*Cough* Lone Wolves *Cough*


Clarification: Unless a unit's codex rule states they have to take saves.

But in the BRB, it says "can", does not say "must" in terms of taking a save or a FnP roll.

This came up in a game months ago when Epidemius' Tally worked with-&-for Nurgle CSMs. Typhus, locked in combat & surrounded by his own Plague Zombies, popped his feat, I chose not to make their FnP rolls, & Epi's tally went thru the roof. Ah, the good ol' days (like, last month...). LOL!
A bad day of gaming beats a good day of work (or school) every time!
ds4502
Clan Chief
Clan Chief
Posts: 259
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 2:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Taking the best save rule question.

Postby ds4502 » Wed May 29, 2013 9:35 am

The FAQ for Necrons clearly states that "Note you must always use the best save available, and so cannot choose to use the dispersion shield's invulnerable save in place of your armour save if the model's armour save is better and available."

It is the second item listed under amendments in the Necron FAQ.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron